Honduras will be the host of the XVII Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Dialogue and Concerting Mechanism of Tuxtla, which will be held in the city of San Pedro Sula, Cortes from 21 to 23 August, under the slogan “Mesoamerica Connect”.

The objective of the Summit is to continue strengthening actions aimed at connecting the social development of the people of the Mesoamerican region with inclusive and sustainable economic growth, focused on the promotion of logistical mobility and facilitation, aligned with the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

The Tuxtla Summit is held every two years and allows joint actions to be promoted on behalf of the countries that make up this mechanism.

For the first time Honduras will host this international summit, where more than 300 entrepreneurs will participate with country delegations, who will discuss themes such as healthy environment, risk management, housing, food security and energy, telecommunications, commercial facilities and transportation.

Honduras is ready to exhibit itself as the Logistics Center of the Americas

The summit is divided into two important  phases:

Tuxtla Dialogue and Concerting Mechanism:

The Mechanism was formally created during the Tuxtla Gutiérrez II Summit, held on 15 and 16 February 1996, in San José, Costa Rica, at which the Joint Declaration of Heads of State and Government of Central America and Mexico was signed.

The Mesoamerican Integration and Development Project and the Mesoamerican Cooperation Program, in close collaboration with the Central American Integration System (SICA) and its different regional components, are other cooperation mechanisms that they contribute to fostering dialogue among the countries involved, with the aim of achieving higher levels of well-being, security, and social and economic development of the countries of the region.

The founding members (Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico and Nicaragua) were incorporated into the Belize and Panama Mechanism in 1996, and in 2009, Colombia and the Dominican Republic joined.

The Tuxtla Mechanism consists of three pillars:

  1. Political
  2. Economic
  3. The Mesoamerican Integration and Development Project.

Mesoamerica Integration and Development Project:

It is the Mesoamerican program of integration and development that promotes complementarity and cooperation between our countries in order to expand and improve their capacities and to make effective the implementation of projects that result in concrete benefits for our societies in terms of infrastructure, interconnectivity and social development.

The Mesoamerica Project implements the Mesoamerican Cooperation Agenda that is made up of two main work axes:

  • Economic Axis
  • Social Axis.

The Economic Axis:

It considers crucial themes for the development of strategic infrastructure, energy security and efficiency of the flow of goods and people.

The Social Axis:

It attends fundamental challenges in public health, risk management, food security, housing, and harmonizes information to prevent damage caused by natural phenomena in Mesoamerica.

The mechanism aims to develop and approve a Mesoamerican Trade Facilitation Framework, as a scheme of cooperation that complements and supports the Central American Strategy for Trade facilitation and competitiveness and addresses the projects of the Mesoamerican agenda.

In addition, progress is made with the preparation and implementation of country border reform programmes, as well as regional trade facilitation initiatives.

Strengthen the regional agenda to support the PYMES as a tool to boost regional competitiveness, consolidating and continuing the Mesoamerican Forum.

por/Leer mas…